banner

ILA | Nevada: Gun Control Getting Rammed Through the NV Legislature

Gun News


Today, the Assembly Judiciary Committee noticed a hearing for tomorrow (Wednesday), at 8AM, on a bill that was introduced less than 24 hours prior and has been in print with actual bill language even less time. Yesterday, March 15th, on what was supposed to be the bill filing deadline in both chambers (and has now been extended), AB 286 was introduced to massively expand “gun-free zones” in Nevada, and to end the centuries-old practice of home-building firearms for personal use. Please contact committee members and ask them to OPPOSE AB 286.

Please keep in mind that despite Nevada businesses and venues throughout the state being open with capacity restrictions, the Legislature remains 100% closed to the public. It’s imperative that you email and call to voice your opposition.

Assembly Judiciary Committee

Chair: Steve Yeager (775) 684-8549, Steve.Yeager@asm.state.nv.us
Vice Chair: Rochelle Nguyen (775) 684-8541, rochelle.nguyen@asm.state.nv.us
Shannon Bilbray-Axelrod (775) 684-8847, Shannon.BilbrayAxelrod@asm.state.nv.us
Lesley E. Cohen (775) 684-8855, Lesley.Cohen@asm.state.nv.us
Cecelia González (775) 684-8595, Cecelia.Gonzalez@asm.state.nv.us
Elaine Marzola (775) 684-8839, Elaine.Marzola@asm.state.nv.us
C.H. Miller (775) 684-8587, CH.Miller@asm.state.nv.us
David Orentlicher (775) 684-8577, David.Orentlicher@asm.state.nv.us
Shondra Summers-Armstrong (775) 684-8545, Shondra.SummersArmstrong@asm.state.nv.us
Alexis Hansen (775) 684-8851, Alexis.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us  
Melissa Hardy (775) 684-8823, Melissa.Hardy@asm.state.nv.us
Heidi Kasama (775) 684-8827, Heidi.Kasama@asm.state.nv.us
Lisa Krasner (775) 684-8848, Lisa.Krasner@asm.state.nv.us
P.K. O’Neill (775) 684-8825, PK.Oneill@asm.state.nv.us
Jim Wheeler (775) 684-8843, Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

Assembly Bill 286, sponsored by Assembly Member Sandra Jauregui (D-41), essentially bans home-built firearms for personal use by imposing requirements that far exceed those in federal law. It prohibits private individuals from possessing certain unregulated components commonly used by hobbyists to make their own firearms. This confiscatory bill also bans possession of existing, legal, home-built firearms.

banner

In addition, it prohibits law-abiding citizens from being able to defend themselves at certain businesses, such as hotels and shopping malls, if the owners want to declare it a gun-free zone, unless they receive written permission from the business. This restriction extends to the property line, meaning it includes open areas like parking lots, with limited exceptions. The bill contains no requirements for businesses to provide any security measures to guarantee the safety of these disarmed patrons, such as security guards or metal detectors, to prevent armed criminals from ignoring the arbitrary boundaries and entering.

Again, please contact committee members and ask them to OPPOSE AB 286.



Source link

Articles You May Like

10 candidates challenge incumbent Sen. James Lankford’s bid for reelection | News
How the Senator from Sandy Hook beat the NRA by caving to the GOP
Citizens Have Fundamental Right To Carry Guns In Public Rules US Supreme Court, Biden Denounces Decision
Colorado cities show Congress how to pass gun reforms
Supreme Court finds N.Y. law violates right to carry guns outside home

2 Comments

  1. 678764 302706Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned a lot more from this post. Im really glad to see such amazing information being shared freely out there. 496669

  2. 88219 269463Keep in touch whilst functioning from your own home workplace with out all of the hassle of purchasing or procurment costly office equipment. Debtors are allowed to apply with their a bad credit score background whenever. 64167

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.