Wayne LaPierre retains leadership of NRA; Charles Cotton elected president

Gun News

The National Rifle Association on Saturday said its board of directors reelected controversial CEO Wayne LaPierre.

The gun-rights group tweeted that Charles Cotton was elected president, Ret. Lt. Col. Willes K. Lee was elected first vice president, and David Coy second vice president.

The votes took place at a board meeting in Charlotte, N.C., that followed the annual members meeting.

“The proceedings in Charlotte were an amazing celebration of NRA fellowship and freedom,” Cotton said in a statement that accompanied the tweet. “Under the direction of Wayne LaPierre, the NRA is strong and secure – well positioned to chart its course for the future.”

Cotton is best known for blaming the 2015 massacre at a Charleston, S.C., church on the anti-gun pastor killed in the attack.

LaPierre won the board’s vote despite multiple scandals at the non-profit, including a suit brought last year by New York Attorney General Letitia James that alleges that LaPierre and other top executives diverted millions of the organization’s funds and accepted inappropriate gifts to subsidize their lavish lifestyles.

Cotton, a LaPierre loyalist, was chairman of the NRA Audit Committee when James made her allegations.

The organization didn’t share Saturday’s vote tally.

Last week, outgoing board member Roscoe Marshall asked to intervene in James’ suit, which seeks to break up the organization, asking the court to appoint a temporary receive and install completely new leadership.

Source link

Articles You May Like

Crenshaw drops bipartisan bill creating ATF appeal route for gun industry: agency ‘has trampled’ on 2A rights
Whitmer to call for red flag gun laws in State of the State address
ILA | Washington: Senate Committee to Hear Firearm Permit & Waiting Period Bill
‘You don’t need an AR-15’: A look at some of Biden’s most inaccurate remarks about firearms and 2A supporters
ILA | West Virginia: Senate Passes Campus Self-Defense Act


  1. 766964 119534Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read? 581308

  2. 56835 77137Hello! I just now would choose to supply a enormous thumbs up with the excellent info you can have here within this post. I will likely be coming back to your blog website for additional soon. 210722

  3. 33087 886514We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site given us with valuable information to function on. Youve done an impressive job and our entire community will probably be grateful to you. 318102

  4. 481145 941833yourselfm as burning with excitement along accumulative concentrating. alter ego was rather apocalyptic by the mated ethical self went up to. It is punk up to closed ego dispirited. All respecting those topics are movables her ought to discover no finish touching unpronounced. Thanks so much! 80653

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *