U.S. Congressman Paul Gosar and Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith Introduce Legislation to Block Gun Registries

Second Amendment

Image by Jason Gillman from Pixabay 

May 21, 2023 – WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-09) has issued the following statement in response to introducing H.R. 3492,  the Gun-owner Registration Information Protection Act (GRIP Act), legislation that prohibits states, localities, or any other organization from using federal funding to maintain gun registries.

“The GRIP Act clarifies existing law prohibiting the use of any federal funding by states or local entities to store sensitive, personal information related to the legal ownership or possession of firearms.  

Concerningly, newspapers and websites have published firearm ownership databases showing where licensed gun owners and permit holders live.  This bill ensures federal funds do not contribute to any recordkeeping that could continue to allow this kind of breach of privacy,” stated Congressman Gosar.

The GRIP Act is needed now more than ever as more anti-gun and anti-violence proposals too often end up infringing on the Second Amendment rights of law-abiding gun owners,” said Hyde-Smith, “The GRIP Act would ensure that states and cities comply with federal statutes that specifically prohibit the use of federal funds to keep gun registries, which can then be used to target people who own or purchase firearms legally,” the Senator added.



Current law prevents the federal government from storing information acquired during the firearms background process.  The GRIP Act would ensure the federal government does not support, either intentionally or otherwise, state or local efforts to collect and store personally identifiable information related to legal firearm purchases and ownership.

Supported by: National Rifle Association, Gun Owners of America, National Association for Gun Rights, and the Constitutional Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association

House cosponsors (42): Representatives Doug Lamborn (CO), Scott DesJarlais (TN), Randy Weber (TX), Eric Crawford (AR), Jeff Duncan (SC), Matt Gaetz (FL), Glenn Grothman (WI), Mike Kelly (PA), Byron Donalds (FL), Mary Miller (IL), Andy Harris (MD), Ralph Norman (SC), Tom Tiffany (WI), Scott Perry (PA), Alexander Mooney (WV), Andy Biggs (AZ), Matt Rosendale (MT), Claudia Tenney (NY), Roger Williams (TX), Debbie Lesko (AZ), Eric Burlison (MO), Lauren Boebert (CO), Anna Luna (FL), Eli Crane (AZ), Dan Bishop (NC), Andy Ogles (TN), Dan Crenshaw (TX), Marjorie Taylor Green (GA), Ronny Jackson (TX), Michael Guest (MS), Mike Boss (IL), Julia Letlow (LA-05), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Brian Babin (TX), Aaron Bean (FL), Ken Buck (CO), Chuck Edwards (NC), Barry Morre (AL), Doug LaMalfa (CA), Andrew Clyde (GA), John Moolenaar (MI), and Chip Roy (TX)

Senate cosponsors (9) Bill Cassidy (LA), Kevin Cramer (ND), Cynthia Lummis (WY), Roger F. Wicker (MS), Pete Ricketts (NE), Bill Hagerty (TN), Mike Braun (IN), Mike Rounds (SD), and Steve Daines (MT)
Source: Congressman Paul Gosar

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *